Bawana bypoll: BJP MP Udit Raj to probe party's defeat

Bawana bypoll: BJP MP Udit Raj to probe party's defeat

The BJP was trailing at the third position with 23949 votes.

Following defeat in the Panaji and Valpoi bypolls, the Congress party on Monday alleged that the Bharatiya Janata Party indulged in corrupt practices and said that the bypolls are a moral defeat for BJP.

The bypoll in Panaji was necessitated by the resignation of sitting BJP MLA Sidarth Kuncolienkar to enable Parrikar contest the seat as required under law to become an MLA in six months of taking over as chief minister. AAP won the by-polls with more than 24,000 votes and the party got total 59,886 votes. According to the election commission, the AAP secured a vote share of 45.4%, the BJP 27.2% and the Congress 24.2%.

Parrikar won his maiden assembly election from Panaji in 1994 and this will be his 6th term from the Goan capital.

The North-West Delhi constituency of 3.5 lakh voters is dotted with slum clusters, the biggest of which is the Shahbad Dairy.

Parkash, who had won Bawana seat on AAP's ticket, deserted his party to join BJP just before the municipal elections in February.

For Bawana bypoll, the BJP had fielded Ved Prakash who had won from the constituency in the 2015 elections as an AAP candidate.

More news: Troubled Ten saved by USA broadcaster CBS

The Congress had got only 7.87 per cent votes in the 2015 assembly polls.

Having lost two seats that went to polls in Goa, the Congress today alleged that the ruling BJP "indulged in corrupt practises".

However, Congress with 16 MLAs still remains the single largest party in the Goa assembly. The former defence minister returned to Goa to lead the coalition in March after the Goa Forward Party and Maharashtrawadi Gomantak Party insisted that Parrikar hold the reins of any government they supported.

The electoral fate of Goa Chief Minister Manohar Parrikar, who contested the assembly by-election from Panaji, is also to be decided.

TDP candidate Brahmananda Reddy, who won the Nandhyal constituency, polled 97,076 votes beating his nearest rival YSR Congress party nominee Silpa Mohan Reddy, who netted 69,610 votes.

The Nandyal by-poll was necessitated after the death of Bhuma Nagi Reddy, who had in fact quit the YSR Congress past year to join the ruling TDP.

The Rayalaseema Parirakshana Samithi (RPS), a proponent of a separate Rayalaseema state which some political observers considered a game-changer, failed to take off and got a mere 154 votes-less than even the 1,231 none of the above (NOTA) votes.

Related Articles